Little, Big by John Crowley

“And there are fairy maidens who capture the hearts of, and can apparently lie with, humans, and who are the size of human maidens. And there are fairy warriors on great steeds, banshees and pookahs and ogres who are huge, larger by far than men …… The explanation is that the world inhabited by these beings is not the world we inhabit. It is another world entirely, and it is enclosed within this one; it is in a sense a universal retreating mirror image of this one, with a peculiar geography I can only describe as infundibular.”
– Little, Big by John Crowley

And lastly, the vastest circle, the infinity, the center point –FaΓ«ry, ladies and gentlemen, where the heroes ride across endless landscapes and sail sea boyond sea and there is no end to possibility — why that circle is so tiny it has no door at all.”
– Little, Big by John Crowley

Little, Big by John Crowley

Little, Big by John Crowley

Stolen Moments

Stolen Moments

24 thoughts on “Little, Big by John Crowley

  1. gimpet says:

    What made you choose these two passages of this book? What do they mean to YOU?

    • Four and a half years since that post! Good question! And I wish I had a good answer! Best guess now – I am always fascinated by physics, parallel universes, traditional fantasy etc. The idea that we are in a world within another world, populated by these amazing ideas & beings… probably appealed to me. Probably needed to step inside that world back then, if only to peek at it for the concept of ‘no end of possibilities‘! πŸ™‚ I have a garden stone in my backyard … ‘DON’T PISS OFF THE FAIRIES‘. I believe it!:)

      • gimpet says:

        Great saying, yes us fairies get mighty steamed up when roused…..I will have to get this book…..

        • Easily found second hand. And it is quite a thick book and you will most likely pick it out easily! Read it slowly!

          • gimpet says:

            Amazon, two day shipping! Should come in today! I am very curious to read. Read slowly, check, yes sir dragonmaster! As I tend to read quickly, I will have to slow it down and….savor. Who knows, a memoirs of a dragoness notebook may sit next to MY bed πŸ™‚

            • Excellent! You might want a dictionary nearby too! There are many covers, some a bit more interesting than others. I am hoping you will love this book! The ‘other’ title of this book is actually ‘The Faeries’ Parliament‘! It grabbed me with the style, words, layout, images, voices, quotes and it was unlike ANY book I had ever read before! I just went back to my original written diary, and the first four lines I put down were:
              * Read
              * Speak
              * Write
              * Imagine

              (in purple, of course!)

              • gimpet says:

                I already see what you mean by WORDS. Within the first 12 pages I found two words I didn’t know, one word I JUST learned, and he used it SO well (deliquescent) and various tenses of one of my favorite bands (Evanescence)–“to gradually fade from sight”. I never knew their definition. This is really making me think! LOL, he likes TALL women πŸ™‚
                You and your purple πŸ™‚ Wow, those words gave me shivers. I imagine you could write a heck of a fantasy novel πŸ™‚ Have you thought of it?

                • I still occasionally just open my book to see what will appear! Novel idea…writing a novel! πŸ™‚ Still trying to figure out poems … one form, with coffee firmly in cup, at a time! My diary was written in purple too! Just .. me! I actually have multiple colours now and had to search out a specialty office store, to find refills and new colours! The pen just … feels right…and looks right too!

                  • gimpet says:

                    Ok, fascinated by the color thing. Is each color for a special topic? I wonder what that says about you? You seem to be attracted to tactile and visual πŸ™‚ Definitely visual, with your photography and how you lay out your poems.
                    Why is this book making me feel sad? The tone feels sad to me. Maybe because of his theme of evanescence…Smoky feeling like he is invisible. I certainly feel that way sometimes. Like I am in a mirror watching the world and not really interacting with it. I think I identify way too much with him.

                    • I just like colours…and switched between days and thoughts. Nothing… written in stone…. about the colour selection, other than … pretty! There is great tragedy, but great triumph, like any good book. The wonder of it all awaits! I felt I was eavesdropping on their lives.

                  • gimpet says:

                    I was reading today about Violet walking in the moonlight toward a visit with Mrs Underhill and this haiku popped into my head:
                    Aqueous moonlight–
                    phased ephemeral beauty–
                    evanescent glow
                    I can see that this book may inspire a lot of poetry! Good or bad has yet to be determined……

                    • WP that! And include the ‘Director’s Cut’ as you so often want me to! Beautiful! And if you like the book… great! If not…then not! It was a difficult yet amazing read for me…. as I needed the dictionary most of the time, and had to read it…twice sometimes! And only a few pages at a time, it seemed to overwhelm me at times!

                    • gimpet says:

                      Smokey is kind of a man slut….bonking two sisters at once. Your hero? LOL

                    • No, and not all of the story is perfect. The words! The words! The .. KARMA!

                    • gimpet says:

                      It is very 19th century English….as in England English. I feel like he lived with the fairies to write so. Yes you are right it is magical, even with the, ah, interesting and mildly purvy relationships. πŸ™‚

                    • I put aside some of the story lines….and wondered at his imagination. And I have to go back and re-read it now! Been a few years – I read it starting in about 2009-10 (ish!) and want to go back and … maybe start a new … colourful diary!!! His choice of words, for me, was breathtaking… I had to have a dictionary close by, and when that failed…..dictionary.com!!!!!

                    • gimpet says:

                      It is definitely a book that one must read more than once to dissect the layers. Your colourful diary awaits new worlds of wonder (see I am turning Canadian)!

                    • I bestow upon you honourary Canadian-hood! All that is required is to say ‘eh’ at the end of a sentence, at least once a week, such as ‘How’s it goin’, eh?’ or ‘Let’s go to Timmie’s for a hone-glazed donut, eh!”

                    • gimpet says:

                      I already do! My phrase that I use A LOT is a sarcastic: Nice, eh? Yeah mee, I am a Canadian at heart! πŸ™‚

                    • Paperwork now being done at the HIGHEST LEVELS OF PARLIAMENT …. after tax season, of course! πŸ™‚ When you cross the 49th parallel … just say ‘Greg says Hi!” and you are good to go!

                    • gimpet says:

                      πŸ™‚ I will print this recommendation off for future use if I ever need to sneak into Canada. Is “Greg says hi” the code phrase? LOL!

                    • Lifetime supply of ‘Greg says hi‘ for you and Kira! Just put it on a t-shirt and walk right through!

                    • gimpet says:

                      I prefer G.A.S. You should make up Memoirsofadragon shirts with your blog title on the front and Greg Admiration Society on the back and sell them on your site. I would be first to buy it πŸ™‚

                    • G.A.S. it is…..with the red Dragon Baseball hat! Now, just need to shake loose some money from WordPress….then they could claim it as a tax deduction! LOL!

Leave a Reply

