A Balance to Sadness in the Universe

There is a balance to sadness in the universe

     I do not know what it balances against

Joy, bliss, happiness, karma, destiny

      ecstasy or perhaps even luck

            I do not know

But a balance must exit

      I have to believe that

             I have to have faith in that

                     Balance

                          Balance

“It was very exciting for her, taking his dignity away in the name of love.”
Kurt Vonnegut, Slaughterhouse-Five
4 thoughts on “A Balance to Sadness in the Universe

  1. dragonkatet says:

    Do you know how strange it is to be reading these in reverse and coming across conclusions I have come to in the piece “before”, mirrored here, in the piece “after”? Well. Perhaps it is the Universe’s way of telling me to shut up and just enjoy reading in silence. Hmmm. Perhaps so.

    • Thank you again for reading so many of my scratchings and for your comments. I admit to reading aloud, my own words, to my self. So reading ‘in silence’ made me laugh! I am enjoying a sense of Deja Vu, travelling ‘backwards’ in time with your comments.

  2. dragonkatet says:

    🙂 It is good to revisit past musings. I thoroughly enjoyed reading each and every one of them. Reading works aloud is a great habit! It can strengthen the lyrical quality, and for someone as loquacious as you, with such an extensive vocabulary, I imagine that reading your poems aloud is quite the lyrical experience. Thanks for responding to my comments so quickly.

  3. […] one simple poem, admittedly a hastily crafted effort, stemming from a profound sadness, forever changed my […]

Leave a Reply

