Remember the Lost Little Ones

“Remember the lost little ones”

Those are not my words…..

Too many parents that have shared silenced grief

“You are young. You can try again.”

To many parents, silent grief is all that remains

“We don’t know why…..”

Too many futures, silently evaporated

“If you need anything….”

To many futures, now less than silent

“These things happen…..”

“Remember the lost little ones”

Too many others, far more eloquent than I

have favoured this heartfelt request

too many times…..

And I have remembered them both

ever since….

Many would remember….. for awhile

but I knew they would ultimately forget

Even now, fewer still

remember anything

Fewest of all now,

…..I alone remember

“Remember the lost little ones”

I remember his exuberant kick, goodbye…..

I remember her joyous wave, goodbye…..

Little did I know…..

Why should we remember?

Each and every lost little one….

…..would have changed the world

18 thoughts on “Remember the Lost Little Ones

  1. Sassy says:

    What a very beautiful piece. 🙂

  2. melodylowes says:

    So full of emotion – so many little ones have been lost, and so many offer empty platitudes that don’t touch the grief. I grieve with you…

  3. Deep and beautiful, I enjoyed reading.

  4. dragonkatet says:

    😦 I’m sorry. <—There truly are no words, but those two are meant.

  5. boomiebol says:

    Deep and very well written. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and for the follow

  6. gimpet says:

    OH GREG….. how heartbreaking. This made me cry. What a beautiful epitaph to your little ones’. You grief is palpable. Thank you for being brave enough to share this visceral loss with strangers. Children are our heritage, our hopes and bring the highest joys and the deepest sorrows. LIfe is precious!

Leave a Reply

