Traveller

Shoulders square, head imperceptibly tilted

eyes open and targeted asea

Traveller patiently endures the abstracted, infinite horizon

jocosely mirroring his angled, wry smile

Atop his burnished driftwood throne

Traveller is a single audience to

rhythmic tides dancing with dappled timber

to and fro

synchronizing with his casually swinging legs

and

more earnestly

his unyieldingly pounding heart

Hardly, a stubborn heartbeat

Moreso, a consistent heartbeat

Abruptly launching himself from stasis

Traveller capers youthfully

from stone to slippery stone…..

With each forward bound

he does not notice

fleeting prismatic anklets of expanding supernovae

anchoring him safely to this beach

Traveller senses

should he tarry

in excess

this would inevitably

court heartbreak ….. anon

Insistent sea spume momentarily outlines

each location where Traveller has strode

Which is more important to Traveller?

The direction of pace

or the solidity of place?

He needs travel so slow

He needs travel solo

for now…..

Antipodal heartbeats

each taking steps closer

battling incongruous unison

each taking steps further away

Whom awaits for ……

Traveller?

21 thoughts on “Traveller

  1. Dumu Abzu-a says:

    What an excellent piece of writing! 😉

  2. Thank you! And….you are perceptive. Traveller isn’t quite sure if he is waiting for someone, or perhaps waiting for himself to redefine what security now means. Past securities were in fact, illusions.

  3. tdmitchell says:

    Very nice. Write on! 🙂

  4. Robyn Lee says:

    Beautiful writing. Insightful – and introspective. Enjoyed much!

  5. I need to ask a question. I hope I don’t look foolish but this line

    ‘this would inevitably

    court heartbreak ….. anon’

    …is one I don’t really understand… yikes. help.
    Sincerely, Lesley

    • Hi! Thanks for the question! Ah, we all make mistakes, over and over again. And I like the concept that we sometimes break our own hearts, over and over again, knowingly. Anon can mean ‘again’ or ‘happening soon/shortly/another time’. We court disaster, so why not court heartbreak? Anyways, you made me rethink it over again too, so thank YOU!

  6. Jonathan says:

    Awesome! I love how you express deep feelings and use the figure of a “traveler”. It makes me think about how us human beings travel through time…

  7. Angel says:

    So amazing! I am not sure I even have the words to express. I enjoyed this one and Travellers Skye so much. I was traveling in great imagery and such a grand use of words. Fabulous, I say fabulous! 🙂

  8. I was pleased to be introduced to your site because of your visit to mine. I admire your poetry and will continue to visit and soak in the beauty of your words. Thank you for sharing your gift.

  9. dragonkatet says:

    *soft smile* No more fear, aye? It is easier said than done, to be sure. I find it interesting to journey with your Traveller, through all these sojourns and experiences. Thank you for taking us with you (both). As I am reading these in reverse (chronologically speaking, anyway), I am seeing the emergence of this shy dragon. Blue is an extraordinarily beautiful color, but it does not suit one forever. 😉 Forgive me if anything I say offends. It is not meant to offend or pry, merely observations and opinions of a steadily impressed admirer.

    • I am grateful of your insightful and probing discourse! Thank you! Perish the thought of offending me! I do know the direction Traveller desires to take, including what he believes is his end destination. But that might be giving away too much, too early! How he journeys will be through my words. Where he journeys, will be within his soul.

  10. […] stained on curled papyrus    etched by dancing quanta       burned with enduring passion    doused with unquenchable spirits embraced by a quixotic ….. Traveller […]

  11. penpusherpen says:

    we’re all travellers, nothings sure, nothings written in ink, mayhap pen-cil? 🙂 xPenx

Leave a Reply

