2012, Dragon Musings and…Happy New Year!

Thank you to everyone who has read my “digital scratchings” within Memoirs of a Dragon since June of this year. I am truly humbled by all your kind words and visits to my tiny WordPress “Beach

If, seven months ago, someone had boldly predicted I would be writing poetry on a somewhat-regular basis, I would have immediately informed them that I had barely tried writing poetry before, had hardly written ANYTHING, other than cheques, shopping lists, and computer documentation….AND had no real interest in….poetry!

Well, one simple poem, admittedly a hastily crafted effort, stemming from a profound sadness, forever changed my perspective. I needed to write something! And something seemed to ….“click”. I had surprised myself with my own words!

I am shy, yes, but that trait is more of an internal reality, rather than characterizing any outward expressions. Most people would roll their eyes (and DO!) at my professing to be extremely shy! Ah, but it is only my cover they judge, not my book. Now my book is diagrammed with digital scratchings! There really is a small piece of me in every poem I write. Perhaps I am becoming less shy! Who knows!

A few earlier “scratchings” of mine might describe where I have come from, and potentially where I am going, with my words. I hope I am getting better at writing. My motivation is quite simple: As long as I keep surprising myself, then I shall continue to write.

Here are some legacy “scratchings” from my “distant past”, so very long ago…….

Parturition – The Identity of Self
(My FIRST poem, ever – July 7 2009)

Whispers of Creation
An Imagination of Dragons
Tears of Freedom (Tzu Yo)
A Quiet of Forbearance – II

And thanks to WordPress and their stat helper monkeys for the yearly summary below!

Apparently, my most viewed poem was ‘Journeying….. ‘tween perfection and clarity‘ Thank you all for reading it!

And my own personal favourite, that I enjoyed writing the most was…..“daughter and dad

Happy New Year everyone!

Here’s an excerpt:

600 people reached the top of Mt. Everest in 2012. This blog got about 5,000 views in 2012. If every person who reached the top of Mt. Everest viewed this blog, it would have taken 8 years to get that many views.

Click here to see the complete report.

31 thoughts on “2012, Dragon Musings and…Happy New Year!

  1. e says:

    Happy New Year!!!!!
    I love your posts…

    e

  2. pseudomonaz says:

    Happy new year.. keep penning those beautiful poems.

  3. meiro says:

    Happy New Year my friend…, all the best.

    Best wishes,
    mei

  4. Happy New Year! Love, Linda

  5. sophiebowns says:

    Happy New Year!
    Love from Sophie !
    sophiebowns.wordpress.com

  6. ljlenehan says:

    Happy New Year – wishing you much success with your poetry in 2013!

  7. Congrats on your poetry and shedding your cocoon!!!

  8. kanzensakura says:

    Happy new year to you. Thank you again for liking and following my posts. I am looking forward to your posts this year.

  9. KD DeFehr says:

    I’ve nominated you for the Tell Me About Yourself Award! No pressure or anything but if you choose to accept, check out http://defehrpoetry.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/tell-me-about-yourself-award/ for more info.

    Have a happy new year!

    • Thank you! And extra special thanks for SO many ‘Likes’! WOW! I will accept but first, I have to return all your ‘Likes’ – to all your Dragon posts! Then I will figure out what to….reveal about myself!

  10. Oh, goodness! I have been off meandering with the holidays and stuff that I missed this post completely.

    Happy New Years! I felt like saying that again even though I have already said that to you on my blog. Hee hee

    Yippie! To coming out of “shyness” (a little :-)) and sharing your treasured poetry (“scratchings”) with us. I really enjoy your “Traveller(‘s) poems. Such great tales wrapped into them, however, I enjoy all of your words.

    I can’t wait to see what adventurous words you share with us this year! (Maybe a book to come??) 🙂

    • A little less shy each…poem! 🙂 Thank you for reading them all! And I will say Happy New Year again, too! Since last year was the Year of the Dragon, I view it as good ‘karma’ that I ventured forth into writing! And a new Traveller is pending. He is on a Beach, dealing with … Infinity! Ssshhh!

  11. kelihasablog says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog so I could therefore find your 😀
    Your poetry is lovely by the way. I look forward to reading more!

  12. yolonce12 says:

    I nominated you for the ‘ Beautiful Blogger Award’
    congratulations!
    🙂

  13. a real standout, Dragon Whisperer…:)

  14. heartafire says:

    good luck with your nomination…and a happy new year Dragon.

  15. Jas Baku says:

    Congrats on the stats! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  16. So very glad you are back AND writing poetry! Winter doldrums are rare here and take the form of rain and grey clouds! 🙂 You are making me BLUSH again, with your touching thoughts! I am writing another Traveller, as he is kneeling on a beach, pondering …. infinity and … secrets! But Traveller is probably more shy than even I am! 🙂

Leave a Reply

