Stellar

Star dreamt passions awake

surging on twilights ink

stilled, ‘neath dawns folio

secretly etched lost fates

silenced thrum of rapture

straw hearts absorb lost tears

solitary heartbeat

✩      ✫      ✬      ✭      ✮      ✰      ☆

Pleiades:  This titled form was invented in 1999 by Craig Tigerman, Sol Magazine’s Lead Editor. Only one word is allowed in the title followed by a single seven-line stanza. The first word in each line begins with the same letter as the title. Hortensia Anderson, a popular haiku and tanka poet, added her own requirement of restricting the line length to six syllables.

Background of the Pleiades: The Pleiades is a star cluster in the constellation Taurus. It is a cluster of stars identified by the ancients, mentioned by Homer in about 750 B.C and Hesiod in about 700 B.C. Six of the stars are readily visible to the naked eye; depending on visibility conditions between nine and twelve stars can be seen. Modern astronomers note that the cluster contains over 500 stars. The ancients named these stars the seven sisters: Alcyone, Asterope, Celaeno, Electra, Maia, Merope, and Tygeta; nearby are the clearly visible parents, Atlas and Pleione.

The poetic form The Pleiades is aptly named: the seven lines can be said to represent the seven sisters, and the six syllables represent the nearly invisible nature of one sister.

(The above explanation from Shadow Poetry)

Thanks again to Kira at Wrestling Life for introducing me to this and other Poetry Forms.

Feynman

75 thoughts on “Stellar

  1. Kira says:

    Wow! This is incredibly beautiful! You always have such wonderful imagery in your poems 🙂

  2. I have read a wonderful blog post on the Pleiades recently: http://esotericembers.wordpress.com/2013/05/17/pleiades-in-midst-of-midspring-eclipses/
    I am also fascinated by them and in my natal chart they form a tight conjunction with my Moon.

  3. stellar! I’d never heard of it…may have to give it a go… 🙂

  4. janineyork says:

    An amazing form of art. I love this, and I have learned so much from it as well. Very cool.

  5. Great images and explanation of the poetic form!

  6. kanzensakura says:

    This is truly lovely. and such an interesting art form. I have not doubt you could do Pleiades A – Z with one dragon wing tied behind your back!

  7. penpusherpen says:

    Stellar, the form and the words draw a wonderful picture.. and once I’d read the explanation, it added to the experience. A stellar performance.. methinks.. 🙂 xPenx

  8. Greg, this certainly is one of the best pieces I’ve read by you. Infact, I think this is one of the best poems I have come across lately.
    And…. “straw hearts absorb lost tears” — wow, brilliant manifestation of exquisite thoughts!! Keep penning.

    • I walked around all day today with a huge smile on my face, and I can only say .. THANK YOU for your generous and encouraging words! I was instantly stricken with the style of The Pleiades, stars and … Stellar … arose! Next – the rest of the alphabet!

      • And I am smiling too!!
        Ah, stars… the ‘red heart’ of Scorpius; Antares has gotten me mesmerized for the past four months at dawn. Isn’t what’s hovering above our heads the most amazing sight ever? And, you in Canada and I in Maldives are admiring the same masterpiece, no? 🙂

        • Our island homes and skies are always masterpieces, even when covered by fog and clouds – makes the reappearance of celestial treasures, so much more magnificent! There is a nearby observatory and once a week, it is open to the public! Jupiter, Saturn, moons and even the Sun, are almost at fingertip length away! NASA sends me an email when the ISS (International Space Station) appears above my HOME! I see an incredible, brilliant, impossible diamond, racing across the sky…with a Canadian recently in command! I always wave! This is pure magic … to me, and I am forever grateful! 🙂
          Greg

  9. love the whole feel of this piece, particularly “silenced thrum of rapture” – love the sibilants and the images you conjure

  10. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    Oh I like this very much!
    I may wander in an attempt…
    I just figured out why I don’t hear from you, I was unclicked from following…I never know why…to challenged in the technical stuff..
    anyways..this is wonderful…I grow the Seven Sisters Rose…and have talked many a night to the Seven Sisters at night….wonderful energy…
    Thank you for sharing …
    Take care…
    )0(
    ladyblue

    • Thank you! And the same has happened to me a few times too! At first, I thought they had simply not posted, but then I ‘found’ them and somehow had been ‘unfollowed’ from them! Thank you for ‘finding‘ me again! 🙂 This style of poem appeals to me, so I will most likely undertake an A-Z challenge! Love your blog!
      Greg

  11. Eva PoeteX says:

    Epitome of beauty right here. ❤

  12. queenlorene says:

    You never fail to deliver! I am grateful for supporting Kira’s blog, she is Da Bomb! I fear this one is over my head, but maybe someday….like the A-Z idea, very aspiring. Will you do a cohesive theme as well, IE: stick to astronomy? Unification within unification…..

  13. What a delightful poem! Also thank you for the added etymology , it was really interesting 🙂 Always a pleasure to read!

  14. My first piece to read this morning…Enchanting and love the form! Thank you!

  15. drsuraiyanasim says:

    Gorgeous!

  16. Heartafire says:

    another gem…as I have come to expect from you! Lovely!

  17. Chatty Owl says:

    Oh I like this one a lot!

  18. […] Previous Pleiades: S […]

  19. […] Pleiades: Stellar, Trials, Harvest, […]

  20. […] Pleiades: Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, […]

  21. […] Pleiades: Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, ……..[as I slowly work my way through the entire […]

  22. […] Pleiades: Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, ……..[as I slowly work my way […]

  23. […] Pleiades: Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my […]

  24. […] Pleiades: Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my […]

  25. […] Pleiades: Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my […]

  26. […] Pleiades: Dree, Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my […]

  27. […] Pleiades: Echo, Dree, Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my […]

  28. […] Pleiades: Brigue, Echo, Dree, Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my […]

  29. […] Pleiades: Muse, Echo, Dree, Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my […]

Leave a Reply

