Trials

Tidal memoirs of light

Teeming with elders pride

‘Till lunar rhythms ebb

‘Till solar tempos flow

Time absorbs all passions

Transfer your solitude

Teach us of your patience

Trial Islands Pleiades

Photo from Eyes of a Dragon – Tidal Bloom – Aurora

✩      ✫      ✬      ✭      ✮      ✰      ☆

Pleiades:  This titled form was invented in 1999 by Craig Tigerman, Sol Magazine’s Lead Editor. Only one word is allowed in the title followed by a single seven-line stanza. The first word in each line begins with the same letter as the title. Hortensia Anderson, a popular haiku and tanka poet, added her own requirement of restricting the line length to six syllables.

Background of the Pleiades: The Pleiades is a star cluster in the constellation Taurus. It is a cluster of stars identified by the ancients, mentioned by Homer in about 750 B.C and Hesiod in about 700 B.C. Six of the stars are readily visible to the naked eye; depending on visibility conditions between nine and twelve stars can be seen. Modern astronomers note that the cluster contains over 500 stars. The ancients named these stars the seven sisters: Alcyone, Asterope, Celaeno, Electra, Maia, Merope, and Tygeta; nearby are the clearly visible parents, Atlas and Pleione. The poetic form The Pleiades is aptly named: the seven lines can be said to represent the seven sisters, and the six syllables represent the nearly invisible nature of one sister.

(The above explanation from Shadow Poetry)

Thanks again to Kira at Wrestling Life for introducing me to this and other Poetry Forms.

Previous Pleiades: S

48 thoughts on “Trials

  1. penpusherpen says:

    a capture which exudes patience,. of waiting in contentment. xx

  2. Missed you! Glad you are back! 🙂

  3. gimpet says:

    Kira’s link is no longer active. I was hoping you had it. She too has dropped from WP. Unless you know another blog she writes? I have lost touch with her and I miss her poems! This big guy does seem like a tribal leader doesn’t he? Great description of his life cycle.

    • Sorry for the delay. Mega-sick. Finally feel like going to work today…..but they might just kick me out later! 🙂 I included a link to what I thought was Kira’s website, at the bottom of ‘Trials‘, and it took me to a site called ‘Design Board Experiments‘ so not sure if that is Kira or not. I too miss her poems and stories. I will respond to all your other wonderful comments later tonight, once fueled up with mega-caffeine! 🙂 The wonderful beaches near Tofino have had equally large ‘elders’ throughout the years, many disappearing overnight, due to the huge tides that wash ashore! They really are Surf Dragons to me!
      G

      • gimpet says:

        LOL, at least getting kicked out is permission to get back into bed. So sorry about feeling so ill. I have been stuck at home from a double digit snowstorm. An enormous snowdrift covered my whole driveway and street. I have been stranded until the city finally plowed late yesterday. Being stranded from illness is tough but being stranded perfectly well but unable to move is frustrating as….not being able to pick up a favorite piece of driftwood 🙂 If you see any “likes” that look like Kira let me know. Her blog “my pen, my sword” is gone as well. She had 4 (yes 4) other blogs but I lost their names. I hate losing people I really really like! So frustrating! The Design Board experiments don’t look like her MO for blogging and the person is not her name. Oh well I will have to give it up…grrr
        Mega caffeine just makes me a jumping bean, NOT conducive to answering anything. I end up looking like a crazed loony with red eyes and wild hair..LOL
        Yes I think the name Surf Dragon is perfect for monstrous forms like this one. Poetic and descriptive!

        • Nah, they couldn’t kick me out. I threatened to cough in their general vicinity! 🙂 For Victoria, it is unseasonably cold, and with the windchill, it is … -9. For Victoria (not me!) that IS cold! No biking for me today – saving my lungs and just playing it safe and wise. I only knew about 1 other blog, the My Pen one. Kira is missed. Kira is missed, and I hope she is doing well. Trust your instincts – mine say she might just need some time away, as we all eventually do. She struck me as someone who is finding out exactly how strong she really is … and could become. Not a good inventory of Surf Dragons, but waiting for a really good winter storm – they usually roll in around March!

          • gimpet says:

            LOL you know your Monty Python I see….I did not get an email back from her. I just hope she is ok, she was dealing with so much over the summer Im afraid she just caved or got too overwhelmed with it all. I hate losing people I really like! I find few of them and when I do I hold them dear to my heart….sniff…..

      • gimpet says:

        Oh, ps: I just emailed Kira’s last gmail account to see if she is still active. I will let you know, or she may contact you directly. 🙂 Sending you get well wishes tonight…..ah-choo…..

        • Thanks for contacting Kira! I value privacy and try to err on the side of respecting the private and, even, shy, side of everyone! Then I go and write too much! 🙂 Better today than yesterday!

          • gimpet says:

            She doesn’t mind, contact her on whatever email you have. She adores you and would love to hear from you I know that. Would you rather not and regret? You have nothing to fear but fear itself. Believe me that has made me much bolder than I used to be. I lost so many opportunities. Seize the day Greg! We all, not matter how shy, want to be known, really known, by others even if the others is only one. It is the nature of humanity. I used to be so reticent and I have grown to regret that. Regret is insidious, it grips me and last year I was so sad over it I had to start a blog with a whole load of sad poetry…LOL!

            • More blushing ensues….. 🙂 Not so much about regrets, but … privacy is very important to me. Seizing the day….. seize the mug of coffee first! I always maintain that if even ONE past moment was altered, even in the most tiny manner…..which then made it impossible to be a dad…then I would never change that moment. I have no regrets…okay, maybe should have bought eBay/Amazon/Google/Microsoft etc…….but if a regret was ever realized……. the consequences might be unthinkable.

              • gimpet says:

                What a lovely thought. When I do regret, and I do often regret things, I wonder what catastrophes would have come my way from the altered decision. No decision brings perfect happiness. But decisions that have brought good things into ones’ life are ones to hold on to. Sometimes I forget this, thanks for the reminder.
                We did have Amazon but my husband sold it !

                • No Amazon shares here either, but my Bucket List includes visiting The Amazon…… the river kind!

                  • gimpet says:

                    Im too scared of the 30 foot Anaconda’s to venture there and the man eating bugs and the people who would try and skin me alive and the scorching sun. Im a downer aren’t I? But I will look at your pics and poems from the wild jungle and be there in spirit. I just want to go to Kawaii, sadly, no trip this year I just found out. Saving for next year though!

                    • Top of my Bucket List is to make it to Everest Base Camp. NOT climb Everest, just … see it. I have always been fascinated by Everest and what happened to George Mallory and Sandy Irvine.

                    • gimpet says:

                      I think you still have to train to get to base camp don’t you? I am not familiar with Everest stories. The whole idea of climbing any mountain is pretty daunting for me to contemplate. So when do you plan to do this Great Adventure?

                    • Probably. The documentaries I love to watch always show a 2 week hike, or more, to get slowly acclimatized. Even Hillary became susceptible to altitude sickness and was unable to return to many of the villages he helped build schools, because he would most likely have died at that altitude! When? Need to win a lottery, first. Then… the very next weekend! 🙂

                    • gimpet says:

                      You are lucky to be able to dream of someday being able to do something so meaningful. Are you actively seeing a lottery win? How did you get interested in Everest, other than the obvious that it is a bad ass mountain that any dragon would love to live in! I don’t play, the odds are too great for me. Ahh the poems you would write if you were able to go! I suffer from Raynauds a horrible condition where I lose blood flow to my fingers in the cold, even a cool room. I get VERY nervous driving in the cold because I fear getting into an accident and getting stuck outside. Its horrible to be a prisoner to one’s body. I am watching the Olympics of course, and I love the ice skating but whenever I go out I cant stay outside more than a few minutes. So, sadly, only warm items on my bucket list. Although I would LOVE to see Wistler someday…wrapped like a mummy of course!

                    • I usually buy one, with friends, each week. We have coffee, go check the ticket…and lose! We occasinally win a few bucks, but nothing big! Just for fun…but you never know! Just always interested in Everest. Not sure why. Perhaps because of George Mallory’s famous line, when asked why he wants to climb it ..’Because it’s there!’!

                    • gimpet says:

                      Ahh…THAT is why I knew him! A great line indeed. What a lovely ritual, and yes, you never know. Dreams are essential to living and at least you get to see your friends and have…coffee!

  4. Beautiful, serene feel to your words and image.

  5. kelihasablog says:

    Beautiful writing with the perfect picture… So peaceful and calm! 😀 Great post!

  6. […] was inspired to write this poem as a Pleiades after reading Memoirs of a Dragon.  “Pleiades” refers to a cluster of seven stars located inside the constellation Taurus. The […]

  7. […] Previous Pleiades: S, T, […]

  8. […] Pleiades: Stellar, Trials, Harvest, […]

  9. […] Pleiades: Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, […]

  10. janineyork says:

    Reblogged this on Fairytale Fallacies and commented:
    How true are these words? This poet is amazing!!!

  11. […] Pleiades: Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, ……..[as I slowly work my way through the entire […]

  12. […] Pleiades: Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, ……..[as I slowly work my way through the […]

  13. […] Pleiades: Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my way […]

  14. […] Pleiades: Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my way […]

  15. […] Pleiades: Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my way […]

  16. […] Pleiades: Dree, Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my way […]

  17. […] Pleiades: Echo, Dree, Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my way […]

  18. […] Pleiades: Brigue, Echo, Dree, Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my way […]

  19. […] Pleiades: Muse, Echo, Dree, Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my way […]

Leave a Reply

