Harvest

Honest carver of earth

Harkened to Helios

Hidden summer treasures

Heydays of awned petals

Harvested aurous seeds

Hail each tempered nugget

Humble rewards of ….. Life

Photo from Eyes of a Dragon – Winter Grain Bins
About Eyes of a Dragon

✩      ✫      ✬      ✭      ✮      ✰      ☆

Pleiades:  This titled form was invented in 1999 by Craig Tigerman, Sol Magazine’s Lead Editor. Only one word is allowed in the title followed by a single seven-line stanza. The first word in each line begins with the same letter as the title. Hortensia Anderson, a popular haiku and tanka poet, added her own requirement of restricting the line length to six syllables.

Background of the Pleiades: The Pleiades is a star cluster in the constellation Taurus. It is a cluster of stars identified by the ancients, mentioned by Homer in about 750 B.C and Hesiod in about 700 B.C. Six of the stars are readily visible to the naked eye; depending on visibility conditions between nine and twelve stars can be seen. Modern astronomers note that the cluster contains over 500 stars. The ancients named these stars the seven sisters: Alcyone, Asterope, Celaeno, Electra, Maia, Merope, and Tygeta; nearby are the clearly visible parents, Atlas and Pleione. The poetic form The Pleiades is aptly named: the seven lines can be said to represent the seven sisters, and the six syllables represent the nearly invisible nature of one sister.

(The above explanation from Shadow Poetry)

Thanks again to Kira at Wrestling Life for introducing me to this and other Poetry Forms.

Previous Pleiades: S, T,

24 thoughts on “Harvest

  1. gimpet says:

    I LOVE “harkened to helios”…brilliant alliteration! You made me SEE the harvest. This is such a hard poetry form and you are so very awesome at it, it really suits your style.

    • I wanted to bring an element of time, as well as mythology, and the sequence is roughly, spring to fall, but in a past tense mood. For me, that line brings an image of a farmer, reading his Farmer’s Almanac, to see which day is going to be sunny, in order to go plant his crop! Images of farmers that I have known! But that might be a ….s….t….r….e….t…..c……h! 🙂

      • gimpet says:

        I sensed the passage of time and the planting sequence. No not a stretch at all and I WISH you would put stuff like this under your poems! I went back and read it and it was RIGHT ON your intention but I didn’t see all of that until you explained it! Especially the past tense mood…..Now I am doubly impressed. What a vast expanse of time in such a compact space of words 🙂

        • Including an explanation implies...I know what I am doing! LOL! 🙂 🙂 Just might, sometimes, such as the explanation of Pleiades. But I also hope that each reader brings even MORE imagination – their own, and can only add to anything I might scratch out!

          • gimpet says:

            HAHAHA, you hide it VERY WELL. Try a personal explanation next time, just something simple, and see what comments you get. You may find a blessing in it. Yes, imagination is more important than knowledge of what the author thinks but we read YOUR poem and jumping off of YOUR thoughts can make the experience that much richer. Just a thought, tell me to stuff it if I am being irritating.

            • Actually I really value your comments! No – never irritating! 🙂 I have enjoyed finding a quote, then making a poster, that I put at the end of each poem. This sometimes adds a bit of an explanation, or even counter-point to what I just wrote. I might just put a bit of an explanation on a future one! No promises! 🙂

              • gimpet says:

                Coy again….yes I love the posters you do, they are very meaningful and give an extra dimension to the piece. I will drop over in speechless wonder sucking air through a bag if you ever DO have anything more personal though…LOL

  2. madhu says:

    Thanks, Shy Dragon, for liking my posts! 🙂

  3. penpusherpen says:

    almost look as if they’re honouring the sun, standing with head proudly forward, The wheeled machinery part of the action, a salute. x

  4. […] Previous Pleiades: S, T, H, […]

  5. […] Pleiades: Stellar, Trials, Harvest, […]

  6. […] Pleiades: Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, […]

  7. […] Pleiades: Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, ……..[as I slowly work my way through the entire […]

  8. […] Pleiades: Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, ……..[as I slowly work my way through the entire […]

  9. […] Pleiades: Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my way through the […]

  10. […] Pleiades: Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my way through the […]

  11. […] Pleiades: Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my way through the […]

  12. […] Pleiades: Dree, Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my way through the […]

  13. […] Pleiades: Echo, Dree, Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my way through the […]

  14. […] Pleiades: Brigue, Echo, Dree, Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my way through the […]

  15. […] Pleiades: Muse, Echo, Dree, Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my way through the […]

Leave a Reply

