Escher (Acrostic)

Entwined sketches of Time’s sighing Muse

synchronous with Destiny’s voluptuous passions

chaos ….. balanced within each sepia pic

horizons ….. bound within a singular azimuth

escaping papyrus illusions ….. defined his Life

realities generously shared ….. using but pen and paper

sepiaescher

✩      ✫      ✬      ✭      ✮      ✰      ☆

Thanks again to ‘K’ at Kirsten Uninterrupted for introducing me to Acrostic and so many other Poetry Forms.

M.C. Escher – The Official Website is here.

Escher

 

37 thoughts on “Escher (Acrostic)

  1. Kirsten says:

    Incredible as always!! Really like your “dragon twist” on the Acrostic. Your word choices are always exquisite!!

  2. Reblogged this on Teacher as Transformer and commented:
    We used Escher’s work in the classroom as part of exploring points of view and perspective. Students would design and draw their Escher-like diagram. I found that the students enjoyed the opportunities to be creative and explore in ways that art reveals the world to us.

  3. gimpet says:

    So THIS is what you were hinting at in your email. I am so friggin jealous, not only to have time start this at work, but to write a double acrostic as a memorial to a famous artist! I bow to your excellence and brilliance, Toothless. And as usual, learned something, as I did not know of this artist, but found the website fascinating. The whole thing, picture, poem and quote, all fit together like a beautiful puzzle. This made my day…..

    • Well…sort of! Another … and … another … to come! 🙂 LOL! I am going to make you allergic to dragons with … missing teeth! I actually only ‘stole’ a few moments…. mea culpa! But it was payback – looong day toda! And you found the double! Way to go! I was trying to be subtle! But the next … puzzle in the next .. poem…. LOL! I remember my math teacher showing me the magic of Escher for patterns, symmetry, illusions and how powerful art could be! It is actually quite ‘easy’ to draw like Escher, using a cut-out pattern….but that was awhile ago for me! Kira inspired me with all her poetry forms and I was looking for a ‘word’ for an Acrostic, and was randomly searching Google for a cool word and came across an Escher drawing! KA-POEM!!!

      • gimpet says:

        This from the man who said he cant draw a straight line…have you any drawings like Escher that you have done? If yes, you should post them! I am amazed and doubly impressed that this came from a google search! Did you ever think your math background would be used for poetry? LOL! You are such a Renaissance man…..

        • I would need a GPS, a ruler, 2 iPhones, 3 erasers, barometric readings, a sunny day AND … a compass….to draw a straight line!!! I sketched a few things IN my diary, when I was reading ‘Little, Big’, but they are … a waste of good ink! 🙂 Never (darn I said it again!) ever did I think math would spur me on to poetry, of any kind. But poetry … really IS math! And remember …. Runny Sauce Man! 🙂

          • gimpet says:

            Too funny. Cornstarch! Load that gravy up! 🙂

            • I am being shamed at work…none of us have had Poutine yet … THIS YEAR! They might just kick us out of Canada!

              • gimpet says:

                That is what vacations are for! Load up, dragon, load up! And come back rested, full of Pourine and sassy!

                • All rested and returned! And go away for a week or so….and THREE WEEKS worth of work await….used too many ‘w’ words there…..! Just catching up now, after a day of yardwork on Saturday!

                  • gimpet says:

                    Wow, say that phrase three times fast “Three Weeks of Work Await”–LOL! And SOOOOOO true, sigh. Come back to no food, yard a mess, pile of bills and mail–blech!I always say that “I need a vacation from my vacation”…generally around–day two of returning from it! Gotta hire a town to keep up when one is away….or just stay at home, which grows more appealing the older I get.

                    • All that here…and throw in a complete re-org where so far, no training for the new Part Time staff. Oh…joy! 🙂 It may take a village to raise a child, but it takes only one committee to ….really mess everything up!

                    • gimpet says:

                      Sounds like we are both “in the suds”. Are you the trainer or does someone else do it? Will they help you with your job or are they for other positions? Part time is difficult as it is hard to stay “in the know”. I used to be part time until I got my arm twisted to work more.
                      My job is a MESS and now they want me to increase my hours instead of giving me a partner. Makes no sense and I told them they would be better off having two persons as I am at the top of my salary range and they could get a second for much less PLUS have someone in the unit when I am ill or on vacation. The “Hmmmm….” on their faces was both amusing and irritating! It doesn’t take a brilliant mind to figure that out!

                    • I am the only ‘Trainer’ in my area. In fact, on lunch hour right now, and the first of about 22 showed up. One at a time. Mostly. But more on the way! 🙂 They actually DO help me tremendously, as they fill in for me, or can assist students if I am busy. So no complaints about having any of them here. They are all nice! Your situation is eerily like mine. I am at top of payscale, the only Full Time person, when we once had THREE, and …yes…more duties, which include the duties of the previous TWO! Crazy!

                    • gimpet says:

                      Exhausting….Im a little burned out on it all. Need some of your joyjuice!

                    • I will have at least 4 poems, including the Photo Challenge over the next 3 days. 2 are Magnetic and 1 is my Pleiades ‘U’!

  4. Love Escher. My daughters, both pretty decent artists in their own right, were both drawn to his work in their formative years.

    • I was always intrigued by the patterns, symmetry and distorted visions and illusions that seemed so real. The hands are one of my favourites! Did you find the ‘hidden‘ acrostic?
      Greg

  5. […] previous poem, Escher, had ….. something hidden….. yet still in plain sight! Perhaps worthy of a […]

Leave a Reply

