Letters (Abecedarius)

Amazingly

bees

can disco!

Effortlessly finding garden

honey, inventing

juicy

kava

liquid malts

nuzzling opaque perennials

quietly, rather

sensually

tumbling

underneath vicia

wielding Xanthic yore

zoetically

MadBeeCafe

One of my favourite places for coffee – Mad Bee Cafe!

✩      ✫      ✬      ✭      ✮      ✰      ☆

Always, thanks to ‘K’ at Kirsten Uninterrupted for introducing me to Acrostic and so many other Poetry Forms. Maybe, just maybe ….. this one is new to HER!

My previous poem, Escher, had ….. something hidden….. yet still in plain sight! Perhaps worthy of a …”double”-take! Could there be ….. something else within here too? Ah, poetry!

TroublewithPoetry

18 thoughts on “Letters (Abecedarius)

  1. Kirsten says:

    Awesome!! Is it that the first letters of the words are in alphabetical order?!? Did I get it right this time?!? This is a new form to me…did you make it up?

    • YES! I did some “major” research [WIKIPEDIA :)] and found that this form is actually …an Alphabetical Acrostic! According to Wikipedia, this form is even found in The Bible! See – you inspired me! I just HAD to try one! Sssshhhh….. started this at work …again! 🙂 🙂

      • Kirsten says:

        Ugh…I’m such the bad influence on you!’ Lol that is really cool that this form is an Alphabetical Acrostic; I didn’t even know they had one! You always inspire me with you dragon twist on words and poems!!!

        • It was challenging .. but fun! Just about to head out to … Poetry Night at a nearby coffee shop! And…if you look closer at ‘Letters’… more ‘Dragon Twists‘…. I also secretly imbedded a repeating, reversing … Fibonacci (Fib) Poem using words instead of syllables! 1,1,2,3,2,1,1,2,3,2,1…..

          • Kirsten says:

            Poetry Night sounds like so much fun!! I wish we had something like that here. You are too smart for me!! Lol you will have to let me know how Poetry Night goes.

            • It IS fun! I sit in the back, sip a coffee, read the newspaper and listen to local poets at an Open Mic, and then award winning Poets. And I mean…AWARD WINNING! Some have won the highest prizes Canada can bestow! The website is here. Lori wants me to go up and read at Open Mic ….. But I would instantly turn into a pool of dragon drool! 🙂

  2. Absolutely beautifully clever and delightful! It has started my day on a joyful note. Thank you.

  3. gimpet says:

    Way out of my league….this gave me quite the “Buzz” 🙂 lol– I had to look up the last 4 of 5 words, couldn’t find 2 of them. Did you make up zoetically and vicia? The closest I could come to them was zoet: “pertaining to life” and vicia: a type of plant. Is that right? The whole poem reads like a soft sashay, great visual placement. I was swaying in my chair when I read this 🙂 I love the name of your café! What a lovely tribute to the bee….and the buzz good coffee gives one!

    • I actually found this at Wikipedia, as it is a variant on Kira’s Acrostic! Zoetically is a very different word, and can’t claim to have made it up, but I have used zoetic before. Just … sounds right to me. And poets can make up words …..anytime they want! I originally used the word ‘vetch’ as it is a common plant that bees use for pollen, but the latin name ‘vicia‘ just sounded a bit more … poetic!

  4. dragonkatet says:

    Very well done, Dragon. I love that you used “Xanthic” for X! After all, what dragon would be complete without Xanth? 😉

  5. maryamchahine says:

    This poem can disco, too! Love the images, especially that first line : ) Also loved that Billy Collins quote! It’s so true.

Leave a Reply

