Broken Promises (eX Poetry)

Within Forever
eliminate obsidian regrets
armoured broken promises dissolve
unveiled opaline destinies
are claimed

So, this form is based simply on the fact that Kirsten Uninterrupted lamented the fact that there are no Poetry Forms begin with the letter ‘X‘! So she thought I might come up with .. something! And of course, Fantasies of a Forlorn Fairy is an Expert at getting me to include a ‘Director’s Cut‘ for an explanation of my poetry! Oh, you two always inspire me!!! Thanks to both of you!

So, where is the ‘X’? Okay, bear with me!

Well, since ‘X’ is the 24th letter in the alphabet, and it is also a perfect multiplier of 2, 3 and 4 the number of words in each line should be ascending and then descending….

2
3
4
3
2

So that when you go up or down, to the middle, it multiplies out to .. 24!

2 x 3 x 4 = 24
4 x 3 x 2 = 24

And there must be 5 lines…so a nice little ‘hidden’ sequence of 2,3,4,5 all in a nice short poem! Ah, the math teacher in me … emerges!!

And to make it a bit more interesting, the ‘HEART’ of the poem, which are the middle 2 words of the heart of the poem, should also be .. THE TITLE of the poem! So above, ‘…broken promises…’ are the middle 2 words of the ‘heart’ of the poem, hence, the title!

And by now, the hidden theme within the ‘X’ of the poem should reflect … an EX relationship, or as I would like to call it ‘ eX Poetry’ with the capital letter, on the X, not the e!!!

And if possible, an optimistic ending for ALL OF US who have experienced an ‘eX’ of any kind!

Just playing around! Hope you like it!

And I just realized, silly me, if you change the order to 4,3,2,3,4 … you almost get an ‘X‘ pattern, and with same rules!

Within Forever
eliminate obsidian regrets
armoured broken promises dissolve
unveiled opaline destinies
are claimed

(the original above and below, a slightly different, inverted version using 4,3,2,3,4)

Armoured broken promises dissolve
eliminating obsidian regrets
broken promises
reveal opaline destinies
claim no random Fate

mathsoul

30 thoughts on “Broken Promises (eX Poetry)

  1. Kirsten says:

    I will say it, yet again, you are a brilliant dragon!!! 🙂 the way your math ethical mind works is amazing. I’m in awe how you can turn math into a beautiful poem. I’m still working on my poem for this form! You definitely rose to the the challenge and created an amazing “X” poem!!

    • Ah, but you inspire me! I would never have thought of an ‘X’ poem, had you not suggested it! And, I just found the ZEN Magnetic kit in town! So now, I can combine the Zen with the Math and create …. ZATH!!! That is much better than the alternative …. MEN! LOL!

  2. Kirsten says:

    Reblogged this on Kirsten Uninterrupted and commented:
    Memoirs if a Dragon took me up on my challenge for creating a “X” poem. He is brilliant.

  3. Kirsten says:

    You are too darn smart for this little woman! I’m still working on mine. You and Lori are too fast! lol

  4. This is so clever! 🙂

  5. madhu says:

    Play with words!The science and art of poetry. Enjoyed it! 🙂

  6. This is brilliant! 🙂

  7. gimpet says:

    I love that quote! You always find the best ones. Perfect for this post! You were supposed to challenge your readers for an eX poem! Especially putting an eX as the first word of each line. “Someone” just copied an email and pasted it into their post–LOL! And I know this because I have the email in front of me 🙂 Every time I read your Director’s Cut I still come away with a sense of wonder. Your poems have so many layers to them, which is why I like your explanations so much, else I miss some of the meanings!

    • Yes, I know I was suppose to issue a challenge, but I thought the old ‘actions speak louder than words’ proverb was better! 🙂 I am actually really enjoying creating Director’s Cuts! Makes me think more creatively! Who copied your email? I shall send them furious dragons .. with copyright lawyers behind!

      • gimpet says:

        You put the exact email on your post..LOL! People don’t take hints very well. The dumbing down of society…..Im glad director’s cuts aren’t tedious for you to do and you are finding them worthwhile. They really help the reader connect with the author.

        • Sometimes I will put it in, sometimes not. So if you want a bit of explanation, just let me know. Sometimes, it is just wacky and perhaps should just be in … Wackypedia!!!! LOL!

          • gimpet says:

            I will hold you to that when I whine for the back story. Wacky? You? Noooooooo…..

            • I think we need a legal team to make sure I abide to EVERYTHING I said I was going to tell … ‘later’!!! Don’t sue!!!

              • gimpet says:

                Dragons are pretty slippery with legal documents: “Oh, THAT wasn’t MY talon!” I collated the “laters” but haven’t sent them because I know that you are so busy and I don’t want to bug you 🙂 Isnt June your busiest month at work?

                • THIS dragon can do without anymore legal stuff! LOL! June IS BUSY! A conference/workshop the day I return from Tofino! ARGH! And then …… more students!

                  • gimpet says:

                    Are you giving the workshop or attending? Ahh, students…a whole generation of crafted Greg-ites. What could be better?

                    • Helping out as IT. Setting up scanners, A/V, wireless connects, passwords, directions to closest Dragoness washrooms, etc.

                    • gimpet says:

                      There is more than a little Dr WHO in you!! Is this part of your job or are you moonlighting?

                    • Just part of the job! And since I usually quote The Doctor during demos or meeting people…..Who knows!!!!! LOL!

                    • gimpet says:

                      I think your Greg blog should be retitled Memoirs of The Doctor, since it is so full of quotes and everything is “Quantum” 🙂
                      I am trying to imagine what you quote when you meet someone……care to share?

                    • I am not sure where my first Doctor quote came from, nor why I used it. Just seemed to be a trend after that and there are SO many good Doctor quotes. Even if they don’t match the post .. it is still a good quote! And when I meet someone? For the first time? Would never inflict my sense of humour upon them! I would wait until I showed them the inside of my TARDIS!!! If I were to use ANY quote on anyone, as a first quote to SAY to someone .. it would be my favourite of all time from Robert Brault …”Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.“.

Leave a Reply

