Yes

Yes ….. must always come first

Yin ….. camouflaged spirit

Yang ….. transparent patience

Yell ….. at smoke and mirrors

Yearn ….. for integrity

Young hearts ….. promise too soon

Youthful hearts ….. mend themselves

✩      ✫      ✬            ✮      ✰      ☆

Pleiades:  This titled form was invented in 1999 by Craig Tigerman, Sol Magazine’s Lead Editor. Only one word is allowed in the title followed by a single seven-line stanza. The first word in each line begins with the same letter as the title. Hortensia Anderson, a popular haiku and tanka poet, added her own requirement of restricting the line length to six syllables.

Background of the Pleiades: The Pleiades is a star cluster in the constellation Taurus. It is a cluster of stars identified by the ancients, mentioned by Homer in about 750 B.C and Hesiod in about 700 B.C. Six of the stars are readily visible to the naked eye; depending on visibility conditions between nine and twelve stars can be seen. Modern astronomers note that the cluster contains over 500 stars. The ancients named these stars the seven sisters: Alcyone, Asterope, Celaeno, Electra, Maia, Merope, and Tygeta; nearby are the clearly visible parents, Atlas and Pleione. The poetic form The Pleiades is aptly named: the seven lines can be said to represent the seven sisters, and the six syllables represent the nearly invisible nature of one sister.

(The above explanation from Shadow Poetry)

Thanks again to Kirsten at Voices of Poetry and Prose  for introducing me to this and other Poetry Forms.

Previous Pleiades: Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly work my way through the entire alphabet!]

passion.jpg

20 thoughts on “Yes

  1. gimpet says:

    Great words of wisdom Greg. Only someone who has lived, loved and lost could write using this difficult poetry form with such depth.

    • Just have to move on. A favourite phrase of mine is …’Let go .. or be dragged‘ and it really is …… that simple…at least for me! Nothing I made up – just an accurate Zen phrase I came across.

      • gimpet says:

        I have always liked this, so insightful. A universal truth. The weight of unresolved “baggage” colors every experience shades of grey. But a very very difficult process, at least I find. Im glad you have gotten to a point where you are able to put this into practice. The Gospels tell me to “cast all my cares onto Him” …..but I am not there yet! Someday……

        • Baggage is good! Seriously! Baggage is good! All our doubts, fears, hopes, loves, mistakes, triumphs … DEFINE US! BUT…. make sure the luggage that CARRIES IT .. is of the HIGHEST quality and doesn’t burst open while you travel with someone …. especially … yourself!!

          • gimpet says:

            Are you sure you didn’t major in philosophy? You always make me think. I like this explanation a lot. Thank you, Dragon Sensei! Thinking I need a baggage upgrade….or a bag boy upgrade…LOL!

            • I took one Philosophy course. Had to drop it as it was interfering with … Math! Go figure! 🙂

              • gimpet says:

                I did GREAT in philosophy, because it is a bunch of BS and I am great with BS…LOL!
                No, really, I find deconstructing what others take for granted a fine art. And in a nutshell, that is what philosophy is for me, observation and deconstruction of our basic thinking.

                • I also took one course in Logic and … had to drop it! It was fascinating, but it seemed to turn Math .. into Philosophy! I am good at … most math, but I did hit a brick wall in 3rd year Calculus! I was unable to determine my velocity or direction, upon impact on that barrier and limited my future fame attempting to solve Fermat’s Last Theorem! LOL!

                  • gimpet says:

                    YES! Greg has limits! He is human! Since that Theorem was solved I believe in the 90’s, you did miss your big chance at least for math, although there are other unsolved problems that you can tackle, as you well know. At least you understand the basics of it, which is sadly beyond me. You can still achieve fame with….poetry! Although “in my book” you are as fascinating as Lord Byron.

                    Now you ARE a philosopher, perhaps logic would be more appealing in your later years as you have matured and connected the dots of life.

                    My husband uses quite intricate business logic for SQL and he is a natural, but his major was part physics, part math and part psychology. Talk about mixing it up! Tough to live with someone who can talk you in circles, believe me!

                    • Fermat’s Last Theorem WAS solved! A really good BBC documentary out there…but if I ever do … Dragon’s Last Stanza…that means I am .. DEAD! Not going there anytime soon..I hope!!!! 🙂 Logic only goes so far. Then ……. the What The Heck Factor kicks in and you just never know! Trust me, in no way do I speak, the way I write. Can you imagine me giving a language demo …. in Latin, or as some kind of Heroic Journey – not that I put much significance into that whole Joseph Campbell ‘bliss’ stuff. But that is just me!

                    • gimpet says:

                      But I also cant imagine you saying, “Yo, dude, wuz hangin’ ” either….LOL! And…I think Campbell was a bit of a fruit….waaaayyyy too much weed went into that man’s system 🙂

                    • Campbell was a nutcase. Follow your …bliss? Then what is … ignorance? A bit of history there for me too. Another email! LOL!

                    • gimpet says:

                      Bring it on…..

                    • In an email as it is … weird.

  2. […] Pleiades: Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly […]

  3. […] Pleiades: Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly […]

  4. […] Pleiades: Dree, Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly […]

  5. […] Pleiades: Echo, Dree, Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly […]

  6. […] Pleiades: Brigue, Echo, Dree, Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly […]

  7. […] Pleiades: Muse, Echo, Dree, Patience, Yes, Stellar, Trials, Harvest, Avow, Weary, Further, Unabridged, Cosmos, ……..[as I slowly […]

Leave a comment